Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Need some help on where to hunt elk >

Need some help on where to hunt elk

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Need some help on where to hunt elk

Old 12-16-2008, 09:30 PM

Default Need some help on where to hunt elk

I am currently a college student at sdsu in South Dakota. A few of my friends and I want to take a trip next year as it will be our last year at school and we are looking for a place to go elk hunting as a last sort of hunt together. None of us have ever been on a elk hunt so I am hoping someone would give me a little help on where would be a good place to start. I have been trying to do some research and find a good place to go. We have been looking at places such as Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana. I am completly clueless and was hoping for a little guidance on where we could go on a public land hunt and have a chance of success.

Thanks for any help in advance!
Old 12-16-2008, 09:53 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Need some help on where to hunt elk

Bow hunt? MT....central/eastern...

Maybe ID....

Those would be my 2 states.....closeby....great elk,OTC tags or near 100% draws for bow if not OTC....

Old 12-16-2008, 10:06 PM
Spike

Your options are somewhat limited because most of those listed are drawing only. Colorado and Idaho areprobably the only good options for over the counter type licenses. And you have to be careful about some areas in Idaho due to wolves lowering the elk population. That proably leaves Colorado as you best option.